Legislative assembly

Tamil Nadu to appoint five-member economic advisory board

Chennai: Tamil Nadu Governor Banwarilal Purohit said the first session of the 16th Legislative Assembly will begin today with the governor’s speech.

The Economic Advisory Board includes world-renowned economists including Nobel Laureate US economist Esther Duflo, former Reserve Bank governor Raghuram Rajan, former chief economic adviser to the central government Arvind Subramaniam, professor Jean Dries of the Delhi School of Economics and the former finance minister The secretary of the Union government, S. Narayan, will be present, the governor said in his press release

Esther Duflo:

Esther Tuflo, originally from France, is Professor of Economics in the Department of Poverty Alleviation and Development at the University of Massachusetts. Esther Dufflow is also Co-Director of the Abdul Latil Jameel Poverty Reduction Research Institute, founded in 2003. Esther Dufflow and her husband, Abhijit Banerjee and McClellan were awarded the Nobel Peace Prize in 2019 for their work on poverty reduction in the world. The BJP accused Abhijit Banerjee of criticizing the economic policies of the Modi government, and his wife Esther Dufflow was appointed to Stalin’s economic advisory committee.

Raghuram Rajan:

Tamil Nadu is the birthplace of the parents of Raghuram Rajan, a well-known former Governor of the Reserve Bank. Raghuram Rajan, professor of economics at Booth University in Chicago, was appointed chief economic adviser to the federal government during the reign of former Prime Minister Manmohan Singh. In 2013, Raghuram Rajan was appointed 23rd Governor of the Reserve Bank of India. It is worth noting that Raghuram Rajan has publicly blamed the devaluation measures introduced in India for the current recession and its decline.

Read also | 12% infected with TN after taking two doses of vaccine: reports

Arvind Subramaniam:

Arvind Subramaniam, former chief economic adviser to the central government, is from Tamil Nadu. He holds an undergraduate degree from the University of Delhi, an MBA from IIM Ahmedabad and an MBA from the University of Oxford. Arvind Subramaniam, who was appointed Chief Economic Adviser to the Union Government in 2014, resigned this post until 2018. It is noted that Arvind Subramaniam is the one who criticized the Indian economy for being in intensive care during the last recession of 2019..

Jean Séché:

Jean Dres is a professor of Belgian origin at the Delhi School of Economics at Ranchi University. Jean Dres has conducted various studies on the issues facing India in various fields including gender inequality and its development. He is also co-author of a book by Nobel Prize-winning economist Amartya Sen on policy reforms to be undertaken when market prices are distorted.

Read also | Police clear theft for 800 kilograms of stolen cow dung; Know why

S Narayan:

S. Narayan, who was chosen as IAS of the Tamil Nadu Division in 1965, is a retired secretary in the Ministry of Finance and Economic Affairs of the central government. Narayan was previously the Secretary of Revenue, Petroleum, Industrial Development and Coal. Narayan was also a member of the Economic Advisory Council to the Prime Minister in 2003. His book “Dravidian Years” on the Dravidian leaders and parties that ruled Tamil Nadu for 50 years is important.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.